Sweet dreams are made of these

So I randomly came across a blog written by a mom with a kid with Netherton Syndrome, and I finally sent her an e-mail today – and then within her blog, another mom from Anchorage had commented who also had a kid with Netherton’s!  Crazy.  It’s nice to chat with other people who have experienced this, and it’s eery how similiar everyone’s stories are.

On another note, we had a happy afternoon today.  It finally stopped raining around 5pm, so Jules and I rode her bicycle around the neighborhood.  We stopped at the mailbox where an army of ants were running back and forth between the sidewalk and the mailbox, and I got to teach her a critical thinking lesson.  Hooray scientific method!  So we were watching the ants, and I said, “So Jules, what do you think the ants would do if we put a piece of grass in their path? ”  She said they’d probably go over it – so we tested that hypothesis.  Apparently, ants will not only go over it, but they’ll also go under it and around it.  The entire time she was sitting cross-legged with her bike helmet on, completely enthralled by this team of ants.  We got to relate to how teamwork was important, and how ants share food with other ants, and she shares her toys with her friends – she came up with the concept, not me!  I’ve got such a smart kiddo.

~ by OceanChild on May 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Sweet dreams are made of these”

  1. That’s so cool. I don’t know what I would have thought of doing that. Your kiddo sure is lucky to have such a great mom.

  2. How is Julia’s Netherton’s Syndrome lately? I read your blog regularly but have never commented so I decided to leave you one.

Leave a Reply

 
